Edit or replace the active configuration
- Last UpdatedApr 23, 2026
- 2 minute read
If Historian Agent is already publishing to CONNECT data services, if you need to register to a different instance or sign into a different CONNECT account, you need to delete the existing configuration.
-
Select Stop Publishing at the bottom of the replication service configuration section of the window.

-
Select Delete configuration.
-
Select Confirm in the Confirm Deleting Configuration dialog that appears. Publishing to CONNECT data services stops.
-
The Home screen now shows a Configure button

-
Follow the steps outlined in the Select an instance section of the Run the Historian Agent Configurator topic to re-configure Historian Agent.
Reconfigure Historian Agent to use a instance on the same machine as the previous instance
Use this procedure when you reconfigure the active configuration to a different instance on the same machine as the current instance.
-
Select Stop Publishing at the bottom of the replication service configuration section of the window.
-
Select Delete configuration. The Confirm Deleting Configuration dialog opens.
-
Select Confirm. Publishing to CONNECT data services stops.
-
Close Historian Agent.
-
Delete all folders except the local folder in this path: C:\Historian\StoreForward
-
Delete all files in the folder: C:\Historian\Data\Support.
-
Delete all files in the folder: C:\ProgramData\ArchestrA\Historian\CDSPublisher..
-
Re-launch Historian Agent.
-
Follow the steps outlined in the Select an instance section of the Run the Historian Agent Configurator topic to configure the new instance.
If the Delete Configuration button is unavailable (grayed out)
There are some situations in which the Delete Configuration button will not be available, such as:
-
When no tags have been configured
-
If Historian Agent is not signed into CONNECT
-
There are items in the Sync Queue waiting to be transferred
-
The currently signed in user is not a member of at least one of the groups mentioned in the Set up Historian Agent Configuration requirements and does not have editing permissions.