Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Powered by Zoomin Software. For more details please contactZoomin

AVEVA™ Work Tasks

Upgrading to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020

  • Last UpdatedJul 13, 2023
  • 3 minute read

You can upgrade to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 from Workflow Management 2019 and Workflow Management 2019 Update 1. However, if you want to upgrade from versions earlier than Workflow Management 2019, you must first upgrade to Workflow Management 2019 and then to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020.

When you upgrade the product to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020, the earlier product version is uninstalled and all the files are removed. Therefore, we recommend that you back up the files before upgrading the product.

Make sure that the user has appropriate rights for installing and upgrading software on the machine.

After the upgrade, you will see the following changes:

  • The folder names are changed to reflect the new product naming.

  • When you opt to back up the files during the upgrade process,

    • the CentralConfig.xml file is retained in the old Workflow Management install folder with a .bak suffix.

    • the BPM2019_Backup folder is created in the old Workflow Management install path. The existing Locales, Web, and WorkflowElements folders are moved to this backup folder.

  • Workflow Management services are changed to AVEVA Work Tasks services.

  • WorkflowManagementTemp and Workflow Management Cache files are removed from the machine.

    Note: Customizations to files in Locales, Web, and WorkflowElements folders need to be applied again to the newly created files after upgrade.

To upgrade to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020

  1. Run AVEVA Work Tasks 2020.exe.

    The installer splash screen, and then the Prerequisites installation screen appears.

  2. Install the Prerequisites.

    Note: The system restarts after installing .NET Framework 4.8.

  3. Click Next after installing the prerequisites.

    An alert message "The installation process slows down when the installer backs up the Locales, Web, and WorkflowElements folders. Do you want the installer to take the backup?" appears.

  4. Perform one of the following:

    • Click Yes if you want the installer to take the backup.

    • Click No if you do not want the installer to take the backup.

    • If no option is selected, the installer waits for 20 seconds, and then continues the installation process without backing up the files.

  5. Click Next.

    The system prompts you for the restart.

  6. Click OK if you want to restart the machine.

  7. After restart, on the InstallShield Wizard Completed dialog box, click Finish.

  8. The Upgrade Manager automatically gets launched and performs the following tasks:

    • Stops the services and Application Pools.

    • Deletes the WorkflowManagementTemp and Workflow Management Cache files from the machine.

      For more information on how to run the Upgrade Manager, see Run Upgrade Manager in the Administrator Guide.

      You may be prompted to restart the machine. After the machine is restarted, launch the Upgrade Manager manually using AVEVAWorkTasksUpgradeManager.exe available in the <Installation Path>.

Notes:

- After the upgrade completes, the Work Tasks services and Application Pools start automatically.

- Work Tasks services names are changed. The new service name gets reflected after the restart of the machine. We recommend restarting the machine after running the Upgrade Manager.

- If the images do not appear properly in the upgraded Enterprise Console menu, ensure to update the images from the Navigation Details list.

a. Point to admin, and then click Repository Settings. The Repository Settings page appears.

b. Go to Advanced Settings, click Manage Navigation List. The Manage List appears.

c. Edit the ImageName in the NavigationLink Details window of the required Navigation Link item.

- The Default folder for the Attachments Storage Path in the Repository Settings is changed from C:\ProgramData\Workflow Management to C:\ProgramData\AVEVA Work Tasks.

- Clearing the browser cache on user machines where Enterprise Console is accessed is recommended for getting the (js, css, images, etc. files) changes to take effect after the upgrade. For more information on how to clear cache, see the Cache Refresh Settings section in the Administrator Guide.

Related Links