Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Powered by Zoomin Software. For more details please contactZoomin

AVEVA™ Work Tasks

Upgrading to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 Update 1

  • Last UpdatedJul 13, 2023
  • 3 minute read

You can upgrade to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 Update 1 from AVEVA Work Tasks 2020. However, if you want to upgrade from versions earlier than AVEVA Work Tasks 2020, you must first upgrade to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 and then to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 Update 1.

When you upgrade the product to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 Update 1, the earlier product version is uninstalled and all the files are removed. Therefore, we recommend that you back up the files before upgrading the product.

Make sure that the user has appropriate rights for installing and upgrading software on the machine.

When you upgrade the product to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 Update 1, the existing files are overwritten by the latest files. Therefore, we recommend that you back up the files before upgrading the product.

Make sure that the user has appropriate rights for installing and upgrading software on the machine.

Note: Customizations to files in Locales, Web, and WorkflowElements folders need to be applied again to the newly created files after upgrade.

To upgrade to AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 Update 1

  1. Run AVEVA Work Tasks 2020 Update 1.exe.

    The installer splash screen, and then the Prerequisites installation screen appears.

  2. Install the Prerequisites.

    Note: The system restarts after installing .NET Framework 4.8.

  3. Click Next after installing the prerequisites.

    An alert message "The installation process slows down when the installer backs up the Locales, Web, and WorkflowElements folders. Do you want the installer to take the backup?" appears.

  4. Perform one of the following:

    • Click Yes if you want the installer to take the backup.

    • Click No if you do not want the installer to take the backup.

    • If no option is selected, the installer waits for 20 seconds, and then continues the installation process without backing up the files.

  5. Click Next.

    The system prompts you for the restart.

  6. Click OK if you want to restart the machine.

  7. After restart, on the InstallShield Wizard Completed dialog box, click Finish.

  8. The Upgrade Manager automatically gets launched and performs the following tasks:

    • Opens Cryptography Settings window. Provide the Passphrase to proceed.

    • Stops the services and Application Pools.

    • Deletes the WorkTasksTemp and Work Tasks Cache files from the machine.

      For more information on how to run the Upgrade Manager, see Run Upgrade Manager in the Administrator Guide.

      You may be prompted to restart the machine. After the machine is restarted, launch the Upgrade Manager manually using AVEVAWorkTasksUpgradeManager.exe available in the <Installation Path>.

Notes:

- During AVEVA Work Tasks installation, if Platform Common Service and Common Licensing API Framework prompt to restart the machine, you can ignore and do a restart after completing installation. If you opt to restart the machine, the installation does not resume after a restart. You will have to run the installer to continue the installation.

- After the upgrade completes, the Work Tasks services and Application Pools start automatically.

- Clearing the browser cache on user machines where Enterprise Console is accessed is recommended for getting the (js, css, images, etc. files) changes to take effect after the upgrade. For more information on how to clear cache, see the Cache Refresh Settings section in the Administrator Guide.

- When you upgrade the product for the existing Web APIs in Azure Active Directory and AVEVA Connect repositories, the authentication mode will change to Service to Service Access Token authentication. For AVEVA Identity Manager, the authentication mode will be User Access Token authentication.

- If User Access Token is configured for the Web API and associated with Scheduler Event Association, the workflow fails.

- Deprecated SQL Server Management Objects (SMO) will not be removed from the system automatically.

Related Links