Behavior During Connection Loss
- Last UpdatedJun 02, 2026
- 2 minute read
The behavior described in this section is only applicable when:
-
The Enable offline connected experience checkbox in the Configurator under Common Platform > Federated Identity Provider is disabled.
-
More than 30 days have passed and a machine is in offline authentication mode.
In case of connection loss
-
After authenticating successfully and the application runs successfully, while the application is running, if there is a connection loss between AVEVA Identity Manager and CONNECT, the on-premise capabilities will continue to function.
-
After authenticating successfully and the application runs successfully, if there is a connection loss between InTouch applications and AVEVA Identity Manager, Operations Control connected experience capabilities will stop working. You have to sign in again using the Sign in option.
-
Once you have successfully authenticated and there is a connection loss, and then if you try to open the application in WindowMaker, the WindowMaker runs in demo mode.
-
Once you have successfully authenticated and there is a connection loss, and then if you try to open the application in WindowViewer, the WindowViewer runs in Read-Only mode.
-
If you have never signed-in to AVEVA Identity Manager, and there is a connection loss, if you try to launch WindowMaker or WindowViewer, then WindowMaker will not run and the WindowViewer will run in the demo mode.
Note: Users will not be able to access any cloud-based assets or resources during a loss of connectivity.
Address the connection loss issue
-
If there is loss of connectivity to CONNECT or AVEVA Identity Manager, in Application Manager and Window Maker, a warning icon will be displayed and will notify you with the connection state. When you hover the cursor over the warning icon a tooltip with the connection loss message appears.

-
Address any network connection issues and click on the profile icon and then click Sign in to sign in again.

When connection is restored and the application is re-launched, the tooltip will no longer be visible.