Switch User in WindowViewer
- Last UpdatedJun 02, 2026
- 2 minute read
You can switch between users in WindowViewer in Operations Control connected experience. Switch user allows switching from the current user to a new user by automatically logging out the current user first and then logging in the new user. If an attempt to log in as a second user fails, then the first user will remain logged in using the cached information as the current user to ensure continuous access to their product. This ensures a more user-friendly experience by preventing unintentional logouts during user-switching attempts.
Note: Security must be configured for the application for switch user. "AVEVA Connect" for Standalone, and "ArchestrA" for Managed applications.
Below are the defined scenarios and their outcomes for user experience of switching user accounts:
-
Successful switch:
Description:
-
User chooses to switch user.
-
New user login is successful.
Outcome
-
New user becomes an active user for application and SSO.
-
Original user is logged out.
-
-
Unsuccessful switch (New user login fails):
Description:
-
User chooses to switch user.
-
New user login fails.
Outcome:
-
If token is valid, original user remains logged in.
-
No active SSO session.
-
-
New user lacks permissions:
Description:
-
User successfully logs into CONNECT but lacks permissions.
Outcome:
-
Treated as successful login and the new login will be added to SSO with the user credentials.
-
-
Switch cancelled:
Description:
-
User starts to switch user but cancels the operation.
Outcome:
-
Original user remains logged in with cached tokens.
-
It might not have active SSO session if the logout was completed.
Note: Caching original user tokens helps in maintaining access during failed switches. SSO functionality might be disrupted after unsuccessful switches.
-
To switch to another user in WindowViewer:
-
In WindowViewer, go to Special > Security > Log On.
You will be prompted to authenticate with AVEVA Identity Manager.
-
Enter the second user name and click Next.
-
In the Password field enter the password and click Sign in.
-
The access level and the operator ID will be updated accordingly.
Note: If the second user access fails the first user will remain logged-in.