Verify the project
- Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
- 3 minute read
Verify your project in order to perform various maintenance tasks on the project database.
More specifically, verifying your project validates all screens and worksheets, recompiles expressions and scripts, checks for missing tags and broken tag references, updates screens that have been saved as HTML, and removes unnecessary files.
To avoid doing these tasks during project run time, which can decrease runtime performance and possibly even cause the project to freeze, we recommend that you verify your project whenever you have done one of the following:
-
Update or upgrade a project from a previous version of Studio;
-
Make major changes to the project, such as adding or removing several screens or worksheets; or
-
Prepare to download the project to a target station.
Note: Verifying a project does not download it to the target station. Use the Remote Management commands to download the project.
Note: Before verifying the project, you can reduce the time required for the verification process by Removing unused tags from the project database.
To verify your project:
-
On the Home tab of the ribbon, in the Tools group, choose Verify.
The Verify Project dialog box is displayed. If Tag Integration is used in the project, there will be additional options in this dialog.


-
To remove temporary files that were created during project development โ for example, TXT, MAC, and TAG files โ and decrease the size of your project folder, enable Remove temporary project files.
-
To remove all blank lines (rows) that were manually inserted into worksheets, enable Remove blank lines in project database.
In previous versions of Studio, some project developers organized the contents of their worksheets by grouping related lines together and then inserting blank lines between the groups. It is not useful to do that anymore, however, since you can now Sort or filter the rows in a worksheet.
-
(Tag integration only) To re-import integrated tags that are used screens and worksheets but have not been added to the Shared Database folder, enable Automatically add tag integration used tags.
This is sometimes necessary when you have copied screens from another project, or if refreshing the tag integration sources has broken some tag references. Make sure the prefixes on the used tags match the names of their respective sources.
Note: This option might not work if the used tags are multi-dimensional arrays or other complex data structures that had to be renamed to comply with tag syntax. You may need to manually add these tags.
-
(Tag integration only) To remove tag integration sources that can no longer be found, enable Remove device configurations for nonexistent devices.
Similar to Automatically add tag integration used tags above, this is sometimes necessary if refreshing the tag integration source(s) has caused a source to become lost.
-
To implement password protection on all of your project files at the same time, use Set password for all files and then type your desired password.
For more information, see Password-protecting files.
-
(Industrial Graphics) Industrial Graphics are deprecated with the release of AVEVA Edge 2026. When you open a project that uses Industrial Graphics, the following warning is shown:
The project contains Industrial Graphics screens or symbols; these are no longer supported and should be removed from the project. Contact your software provider if you need assistance.
The project is not blocked from opening and you can continue to work on it. However, Industrial Graphics are not supported and you should replace all affected graphics.
-
Use Verify to make these changes.
The project is verified and the results are displayed in the Output window, in the development environment. If a tag is used in a screen or worksheet but is not defined in the tags database, that will be included in the verification results.