Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Powered by Zoomin Software. For more details please contactZoomin

Edge HMI

Open Project

  • Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
  • 4 minute read

The Open Project command on the File menu is used to open a saved project.

Selecting the command opens a standard Windows Open dialog, which you can use to locate and open the project file (*.app).

Open dialog box

Opening a project created with a different license type

AVEVA Edge projects created with one licensing type (AVEVA Enterprise License or legacy licensing) are not licensed to run in the other. If you open a project created with a different license type, the project will open in Evaluation Mode and you will get a warning about this:

Invalid License warning

You can convert the project running in Demo Mode to a valid license type of the AVEVA Edge installation by changing the Target System in the ribbon Project tab. For example, choose AVEVA Enterprise to convert a legacy license project after opening it in AVEVA Edge with an AVEVA Enterprise License.

Opening a project that uses Industrial Graphics

Industrial Graphics are deprecated with the release of AVEVA Edge 2026. When you open a project that uses Industrial Graphics, the following warning is shown:

The project contains Industrial Graphics screens or symbols; these are no longer supported and should be removed from the project. Contact your software provider if you need assistance.

The project is not blocked from opening and you can continue to work on it. However, Industrial Graphics are not supported and you should replace all affected graphics.

Trusting a project that has been modified by another Windows user

When opening an existing project APP file that has been modified by another Windows user since the last time you (the current Windows user) have opened it, you will see a dialog asking if you trust the project and would like to open it anyway.

Open dialog for modified project

Select Yes to continue and open the project. This project will be set to be trusted for this Windows user, and this dialog will not appear the next time this project is opened unless it has been modified by another Windows user in the meantime.

Select No if you do not trust the project due to its being modifed by another Windows user. The project will not open.

This trust feature can be enabled or disabled in an Options dialog that is accessed by selecting File > Options.

Trusting a project that is configured as a Windows service

If you are opening a project configured as a Windows service, a dialog will open to ask you to trust the project to be run as a Windows service if either of these two conditions are true:

  • The project has been modified by another Windows user since the last time you (the current Windows user) have opened it. In this case, this dialog will open after you have already chosen to trust the changes to the project as described above.

  • You have chosen not to trust the project to be run as a Windows service the last time you were asked to do this.

    Open dialog for modified Windows service project

Select Yes to continue and open the project. Selecting Yes will prompt Windows to open a User Account Control dialog asking "Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device?" Select Yes to agree and continue. If you choose No in this Windows dialog, this project will not run as a Windows service, the same as if you chose not to trust it to run as a Windows service.

After clicking Yes, this Windows service project will be set to be trusted for this Windows user, and this dialog will not appear the next time this project is opened unless it has been modified by another Windows user in the meantime. Also, the application will be enabled to run as a Windows service.

Select No if you do not trust the project due to its being modified by another Windows user. The project will still open, and you will be queried to trust the project to run as a Windows service the next time you open this application. The project will not run as a Windows service until this selection has been changed to Yes.

In This Topic
Related Links