Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Powered by Zoomin Software. For more details please contactZoomin

Edge HMI

Create a new project

  • Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
  • 5 minute read

This task describes how to create a new project, including how to select the product type and default screen resolution.

Note: When you use AVEVA Enterprise Licensing, you can create projects for Embedded target systems (Windows Embedded and IoT View). Traditional SCADA runtime targets are not available with AVEVA Enterprise Licensing.

  1. Select New on the File menu to open the New dialog and select the Project tab if it is not already selected.

    New Project tab

    The Project tab will show different options depending on the type of licensing chosen. This is the Project tab when using legacy licensing:

    New Project tab (legacy licensing)

    This is the Project tab when using AVEVA Enterprise Licensing:

    New Project tab (AVEVA Enterprise Licensing)

  2. In the Project name box, type the name of your project.

    Keep the following guidelines in mind:

    • You must follow the usual Windows naming conventions, particularly regarding the use of special characters; and

    • Do not use spaces in the name if you want to access your project from a Thin Client, because URLs cannot include spaces.

  3. Click Browse to the right of the Location box, and then navigate to the folder where you want to save your project.

    Tip: By default, projects are saved in your Documents folder at C:\Users\<user name>\Documents\AVEVA Edge2026 Projects\. To change this default location for future projects, edit the Default project path setting in the project settings. For more information, see Preferences tab.

  4. (Legacy licensing only) In the Target platform list, select the type of platform that will host your project runtime.

    Selecting a platform will filter the list of available product types to show only those types that work on the selected platform. It is not absolutely necessary to select a target platform โ€” if you leave the selection as (All), then all product types are shown โ€” but it helps you to make the decision.

  5. In the Product type list, select the product type for your project.

    The product type determines the number of tags your project will support, among other things:

    Target Platform

    Runtime Edition(s)

    Product Type

    Number of Tags

    Windows

    SCADA

    AVEVA Enterprise Unlimited Tags

    10,000,000

    AVEVA Enterprise 100K Tags

    100,000

    AVEVA Enterprise 10K Tags

    10,000

    AVEVA Enterprise 2.5K Tags

    2,500

    AVEVA Enterprise 1K Tags

    1,000

    AVEVA Edge Unlimited

    10,000,000

    AVEVA Edge 512K tags

    512,000

    AVEVA Edge 64K tags

    64,000

    AVEVA Edge 32K tags

    32,000

    AVEVA Edge 16K tags

    16,000

    AVEVA Edge 4K tags

    4,000

    AVEVA Edge 1.5K tags

    1,500

    AVEVA Edge 300 tags

    300

    AVEVA Edge 150 tags

    150

    Embedded

    Embedded HMI

    IoT View

    AVEVA Edge Unlimited

    10,000,000

    AVEVA Edge 4K tags

    4,000

    AVEVA Edge 1.5K tags

    1,500

    AVEVA Edge 300 tags

    300

    AVEVA Edge 150 tags

    150

    For more information, see About target platforms, product types, and target systems.

    Tip: You can change the product type later, after you have created the project, by using the Target System command on the Project tab of the ribbon.

  6. Select OK.

    The New dialog is closed, and the Project Setup dialog is displayed.

    project setup

  7. In the Resolution list, select the default resolution for your project screens. If you select Custom, specify the width and height (in pixels).

    In most cases, the default resolution should match the display size of the computer or device that will host the project runtime. Alternatively, if you plan to run your project on a "headless" station (a computer or device without an attached display) and then use thin clients to access the project screens, the default resolution should match the display size of those clients.

    Tip: You can change the resolution of individual project screens later, after you have created the project, by editing the screen attributes. You can also change the resolution of all project screens โ€” effectively selecting a new default resolution โ€” by using the Convert Resolution command on the Home tab of the ribbon.

  8. Select Next. The Data Protection Configuration dialog is displayed.
    This includes a Data Protection option, which is selected by default. Type a password in Password and again in Confirm Password. You cannot continue until the passwords match or you clear the option.
    When Data Protection is enabled, user names, passwords, and connection strings stored in the project (including database, Historian, OPC, email, FTP, and LDAP settings) are encrypted with your Data Protection password. The Data Protection information is stored in the profile of the Windows user, not in the project folder. When the project runs as a Windows service, it is stored for the service account.
    data protection configuration

  9. The Data Protection Configuration dialog is closed, the project is created in the development environment, and the Security System Configuration Wizard is displayed.

    Security System Configuration wizard

  10. Use the Security System Configuration Wizard to set a Main Password for your project.

    The security system is enabled by default for all new projects. You can disable it later, but we recommend that you do not; even if you do not create any users or groups beyond the default Guest user, simply having it enabled and a Main Password set will prevent other people from making their own changes to it. For more information, see Using the Security System Configuration Wizard.

When you finish the Security System Configuration Wizard, your new project is ready for development.