Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Powered by Zoomin Software. For more details please contactZoomin

Edge HMI

Create a new Math worksheet

  • Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
  • 2 minute read

Create a Math worksheet to implement program logic that should be executed periodically in the background during project run time, rather than on a specific action or event like opening a screen or clicking a button.

This worksheet is functionally similar to the Script worksheet, except that it uses the built-in scripting language instead of VBScript.

To create a new Math worksheet:

  1. Do one of the following:

    • On the Insert tab of the ribbon, in the Task Worksheets group, click Math;

    • On the Tasks tab of the Project Explorer, right-click the Math folder, and then click Insert on the shortcut menu; or

    • Click New on the File menu, click the File tab, select Math Worksheet, and then click OK.

    A new Math worksheet is opened for editing in the Screen/Worksheet Editor.

    Create a Math worksheet

  2. In the Description box, type a description of the worksheet.

    This is for documentation purposes only and does not affect the execution of the worksheet.

  3. In the Execution box, type a tag/expression that will control the execution of the worksheet during project run time.

    The worksheet is scanned periodically as part of the Background Task module. Each time the worksheet is scanned, if the specified tag/expression evaluates as TRUE (that is, non-zero), then the worksheet is executed. In practice, this means the worksheet is executed continuously while the tag/expression evaluates as TRUE.

    To ensure the tag/expression always evaluates as TRUE, so that the worksheet is executed continuously without exception or interruption, type a literal value of 1.

  4. Complete the body of the worksheet, which uses the Built-in Language interface.

  5. Save and close the worksheet.

    When you save a new worksheet for the first time, you will be prompted to assign it a unique sheet number. This number determines the order in which the worksheet will be scanned relative to all other worksheets of the same type. For example, if you assign a new Math worksheet the sheet number 5, it will be scanned after sheet numbers 1–4 and before sheet numbers 6–n.

The completed Math worksheet is saved in the Math folder in the Project Explorer.

To open an existing Math worksheet for further editing, double-click it in the Project Explorer.

You can also execute a Math worksheet on demand, independent of whatever is configured in the Execution box of that worksheet, by calling the Math function anywhere an expression is allowed. Using this method, you can even call other Math worksheets like sub-routines from within a Math worksheet.