Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Powered by Zoomin Software. For more details please contactZoomin

Edge HMI

Frequently asked questions

  • Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
  • 11 minute read

Database and Security System

What does the Shared Tags folder store?

The Shared Tags folder stores the tags imported from the PC-based Control linked to the project. The PC-based Control is linked to the project by the New Project wizard.

How do I count how many tags are configured in the project database?

The number of tags currently used in the project is displayed in the status bar at the bottom of the development environment. Individual array elements and class members are counted as tags.

Graphics

How do I insert and configure an ActiveX object in a project?

To insert an ActiveX object in a project screen:

  1. On the Draw tab of the ribbon, in the Libraries group, click ActiveX Control.

  2. Select the ActiveX control that you want to insert from the list, and then click OK. The ActiveX object will then appear on the screen. (Unregistered ActiveX objects will not be available in this list box.)

  3. Double-click on the ActiveX object and assign a name to it (enter a value in the Name field). The animations and methods list can be viewed by selecting the Methods button. The static properties can be set by the Properties button (A detailed description about the objects properties can be found in the component documentation, provided by the component developer).

There are three functions to access the ActiveX component during runtime:

  • XGet(strName,strProperties): Returns the value of the properties strProperties from the object strName. The list of properties which can be read from the object are listed in the Object Properties dialog from the object, with the syntax Properties Name(PropGet) (for example, Color(PropGet) ).

  • XSet(strName,strProperties,Value): Writes the value Value to the properties strProperties of the object strName. The list of properties which can be set to the object are listed in the Object Properties dialog from the object, with the syntax Properties Name(PropPut) (for example, Color(PropPut) ).

  • XRun(strName, strMethod, Parameter1, Parameter2, …, ParameterN): Executes the method strMethod from the object strName, according to the parameters Parameter1, Parameter2, …, ParameterN. The list of methods available in the object is listed in the Object Properties dialog from the object, with the syntax Method Name(Method) (for example, OpenFile(Method) ).

    Tip: Before inserting an ActiveX control (usually an OCX file) into the project, make sure it has been properly registered in the computer. To register an ActiveX control from with the development application, click Register Controls on the Home tab of the ribbon.

    Note: The amount of parameters set in the XRun function can vary from 0 up to 255 and it depends each the ActiveX component. It's possible to use tags to set the parameters; however, the tag type must match the component parameter type (Boolean, integer, string or real).

    How do I designate one screen that will open each time I start the project?

    On the Project tab of the ribbon, in the Settings group, click Viewer, and then in the Project Settings dialog, type the startup screen name in the Startup screen box.

    How do I insert a background picture on the screen?

    Right click on the screen and select the option Screen Attributes from the popup menu. Enable the checkbox Enable Background and choose the picture format in the combo-box besides this label. Copy the picture file to the Screen sub-folder of the project and rename it with the same name of the screen (ScreenName.scc file). Using the Shared image option, it's possible to copy a bitmap file to the Screen sub-folder and share this picture with more than one screen. In this case, it's necessary to type the bitmap name in the Shared image field.

    Why are my linked pictures no longer displayed on Windows Embedded devices?

    Embedded HMI uses a new drawing system to display images on Windows Embedded devices. This system requires that your device be running a recent version of Windows Embedded, and that all of the supported image file formats are included in the device's operating system image. If an image is not displayed correctly on your device, there are two possible solutions.

    You can disable the new drawing system and use the legacy drawing system instead. If you do this, however, only JPG, PNG, and BMP images will be supported in your project. To use the legacy system, use a text editor to open your project file (<project name>.APP) and then edit the following property:

    [Objects]

    DrawingSystemID=<0 for new system, 1 for legacy system>

Tasks

How do I convert a trend history from the proprietary binary file to an ASCII text file?

In Windows, select the history file (*.hst) that you want to convert, and then drag it to the HST2TXT utility in the program folder (Studio Product Name plus Version\Bin\HST2TXT.exe). The converted file will be automatically created in that folder.

Alternatively, you can use the HST2TXT function in a Script or Math worksheet to convert files automatically during project run time.

How do I set a DATE field for an ODBC interface with an Oracle package?

Configure the "Column" cells in the ODBC worksheet with the syntax ColumnName.ts (for example: MyDate.ts ).

How do I execute a Math worksheet during the startup and another Math worksheet during the project shutdown?

  • Startup: Execute a Math worksheet during the startup by creating a Math worksheet and filling in its Execution field with the expression <TagName>=0 (for example, StartTag=0 ). In the last line of the Math worksheet, set the value 1 to the <TagName> tag. The <TagName>tag type should be Boolean.

  • Shutdown: Instead of executing the ShutDown() function directly, execute one Math worksheet and configure the ShutDown() function in the last line of this Math worksheet.

Communication

How do I set a communication error alarm?

Configure a tag in the Write Status or Read Status field of the driver worksheets and configure an alarm whenever this tag is not 0 (zero).

How do I start and stop communication drivers during project run time?

There are three functions you can use to manage the execution of the communication drivers:

  • Use the StartTask function to start the Driver task itself, which in turn starts all of the drivers that have been added to the project:

    StartTask("Driver")

  • Use the Exec function to start a single, specific driver that has been added to the project. The command itself should use the following syntax:

    "<runtime program folder>\Bin\Studio Manager.exe" "<runtime program folder>\Bin\Driver.dll" <driver name>

    Note: When executing a command-line command, file paths that contain spaces must be enclosed in quotes. However, unpaired quotes can interfere with the concatenation of strings within a function call, so in the examples below, each quote character is replaced by Asc2Str(34). The quote character has ASCII code 34, and the Asc function converts that code into the actual character.

    Then, call the WinExec function to compose and execute the command during project run time. For example, to start the MODBU driver:

    WinExec(Asc2Str(34) + "C:\Program Files (x86)\AVEVA\AVEVA Edge 2026\Bin\Studio Manager.exe" + Asc2Str(34) + " " + Asc2Str(34) + "C:\Program Files (x86)\AVEVA\AVEVA Edge 2026\Bin\Driver.dll" + Asc2Str(34) + " " + "MODBU")

    Alternatively, you can call the GetProductPath function to get the location of the runtime program folder and then reference a project tag for the driver name:

    WinExec(Asc2Str(34) + GetProductPath() + "Bin\Studio Manager.exe" + Asc2Str(34) + " " + Asc2Str(34) + GetProductPath() + "Bin\Driver.dll" + Asc2Str(34) + " " + MyDriver)

  • Use the EndTask function to stop a single, specific driver that has been added to the project:

    EndTask("Driver<DriverName>")

    For example, to stop the MODBU driver:

    EndTask("DriverMODBU")

    Alternatively, you can reference a project tag for the driver name:

    EndTask("Driver" + MyDriver)

    Is the OPC interface compliant with OPC specification v1.0a or v2.0?

    The OPC Client and OPC Server modules are compliant with both OPC specification v1.0a and v2.0.

    How do I get errors from Intellution / GE Fanuc iFIX applications?

    If your project is communicating via TCP/IP with an iFIX application, then you should add the following key to your project file (<ProjectName>.APP):

    [TCP]

    SetQualityToBadOnError=1

    After you do this, if the iFIX application generates an error during runtime, then the quality of the affected tags in your project will be set to BAD. You can get this information by reading the Quality tag field (that is, tagname->Quality).

General

What operating systems are compatible with the full software package (Studio and SCADA) and with Embedded HMI?

See About the software components.

What features are not supported by Embedded HMI?

See About the software components.

How do I automatically run my project when the computer or device is turned on?

If you are using the full software as your project runtime, you can use the RunStartUp utility (RunStartUp.exe) that is included with the software. Assuming the software was installed at its default location, the utility should be located at: C:\Program Files (x86)\AVEVA\Studio Product Name plus Version\Bin\RunStartUp.exe

When you run this utility, it starts the project runtime and then runs the last opened project. Therefore, to automatically run the project when the computer is turned on, create a shortcut to the utility and then add the shortcut to the Startup folder in Windows.

Alternatively, you can configure the project to run as a Windows service. For more information, see Run a project as a Windows service.

If you are using Embedded HMI as your project runtime, you can configure Remote Agent to automatically run a specified project. For more information, see Configure Remote Agent to autorun a project.

If you are using IoT View as your project runtime, there are a few different options for how to automatically run a project. For more information, see Install and run IoT View on a target station.

How do I show a splash window when starting a project in Embedded HMI?

To enable your project to show a splash window during startup, add the following key to the device's CEView.ini file:

[OEM]

SplashWnd = <PathToBitmapFile> // default is Splash.bmp

SplashWndTime = <TimeInMilliseconds> // default is 1000

How do I see runtime messages and errors on a "blind" Windows Embedded device — that is, a device that has no display?

If the device has a network connection, then you can use the Remote LogWin tool to view the device's messages as they are generated.

You can also save the messages to a dump file (dump.txt) and access the file at your convenience. To create the file, add the following key to the device's CEView.ini file:

[OEM]

BlindDevice = 1

How can I troubleshoot a custom widget?

Open the widget in the browser developer tools, check the console log for widget messages, and disable GPU acceleration when widgets display incorrectly on specific graphics hardware.

What are the main steps to create a Web-based application?

Follow the procedure below:

  1. Develop the project locally. Don't use features that are not supported by Thin Clients for the screens that will be saved as HTML format.

  2. After saving the screens in the standard format (Save in the File menu), save the screens that must be available for the Thin Client in HTML format (Save as HTML in the File menu).

  3. On the Project tab of the ribbon, in the Web group, select Thin Client.

  4. In the Data Server IP box, type the IP address of the Server station (the station where the project is running).

  5. On the Home tab of the ribbon, select Runtime Tasks in the Local Management group, and then set the TCP/IP Server module Startup to Automatic.

  6. Open the project tags database and set the Scope to Server for all tags that will exchange value between the Server and the Thin Client station.

  7. Verify the project (Verify in the Tools group of the Home tab of the ribbon) to update the HTML files with these new settings.

  8. If necessary, configure a web server to host your project pages. The root directory of the server is the path where this Web Server program is executed. The Web Server is necessary to export data (web files) in HTTP protocol to the Thin Clients.

  9. Run the project on the Server station.

  10. Using Internet Explorer on the client station, type the URL address to download the screen that had been saved in HTML format (for example, http://ServerIPAddress/ScreenName.html).

    Note: The Thin Client requires an ActiveX component ( ISSymbol.ocx ) to handle the screens on the browser. If the Thin Client is connected to the Internet, this component is downloaded and registered automatically. Otherwise, it's necessary to copy it to the \OSPath\System32 directory of the Thin Client and register it by the command regsvr32 ISSymbol.ocx. This file can be found in the \BIN folder of the program installation directory.

    How do I maintain communication between a Thin Client connecting via proxy and a Web Gateway application running on Microsoft IIS?

    Microsoft Internet Information Services (IIS) has a configuration option to keep HTTP connections alive. When this option is enabled, it may conflict with Thin Clients that are connecting via proxy. To disable this option:

    1. Start Internet Services Manager.

    2. In the Internet Information Services window, open the local server ( * server name ).

    3. Right-click Default Web Sites and select Properties from the shortcut menu. The Default Web Site Properties dialog is displayed.

    4. Select the Web Site tab.

    5. In the Connections pane of the Web Site tab, toggle off the HTTP Keep-Alives Enabled option.

    6. Click OK to save the change and close the dialog.

      How do I send an email from the project?

      Follow the procedure below:

      • Execute the function CNFEMail(strSMTP,strFrom,strPOP3,strUser, strPassword,numTimeOut) to configure the overall parameters used to send emails. After executing this function once, the parameters set by it are kept in the system until the project is shut down. So, most projects execute this function just once, after starting the project;

      • Execute the function SendEMail(strSubject,strMessage,strTO) and/or SendEMailExt(strSubject,strMessage,strTO,strCC,strBCC, strFile1,...,strFileN) each time that an email message must be sent. The main difference between both functions are listed in the next table:

        Characteristic

        SendEmail

        SendEmailExt

        Execution

        Synchronous

        Asynchronous

        Supports Subject text

        Y

        Y

        Supports Message text

        Y

        Y

        Supports TO addresses

        Y

        Y

        Supports CC addresses

        N

        Y

        Supports BCC addresses

        N

        Y

        Supports attached files

        N

        Y

        The runtime task (for example, TCP/IP, OPC) does not work.

        Make sure the runtime task is set to Automatic in the Runtime Tasks dialog (Tasks on the Home tab of the ribbon). Select a runtime task that must be executed (for example, TCP/IP Server), click Startup, and then set it as Automatic.

        The browser of the Thin Client launches an error message missing the ISSymbol.ocx and does not display the screens from the Server.

        ISSymbol.ocx is the ActiveX object used by the browser from the Thin Client to view the web pages. If the Thin Client is connected to the Internet, the ISSymbol.ocx control is automatically downloaded and registered in the Thin Client station. Otherwise, it's necessary to copy it to the \WinNT\System32 folder of the Thin Client station and register it manually. Once it is registered your browser will be able to see the pages.

        Note: Use the command regsvr32 ISSymbol32.ocx to register the ActiveX component in the Thin Client.

        The screens are shown on the Thin Client (Browser); however, the data (tags values) are not read from the Server.

        Make sure the parameter in the column Scope from the project tags database is set as Server instead of Local. The tags set as Server keep the same value in the Server and in the Thin Client (Browser). The tags set as Local have independent values in the Server and in the Thin Client (Browser).

        Note: It's necessary to verify the project (Verify on the Home tab of the ribbon) after modifying the tags settings. Otherwise, the changes will not be updated in the Web pages.

        The "On Up" expressions configured in the Command animation are not executed.

        The "On Up" expressions from the Command animation are not executed if the mouse pointer is dragged out of the object area before releasing it. To change this, do the following:

        1. Select the Config button in the Command Object Properties dialog to open the Configuration dialog.

        2. Enable the Release option in the Options group, then select OK to close the dialog.

          With Release enabled, the On Up expression is executed even if the mouse pointer is dragged out of the object area before releasing it.

          The Trend History does not work after adding or removing tags in the Trend worksheet.

          When a tag is inserted or removed from a Trend worksheet, the format of the history files ( *.hst ) is modified. The same HST file cannot have two different formats; otherwise, the data will not be retrieved from it properly by the Trend object. If you need to add or remove tags for history files, do one of these two options:

          • Create a new Trend worksheet.

          • Delete the old HST files.

        In This Topic
        Related Links