Object Properties dialog box
- Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
- 3 minute read
The Object Properties dialog box shows the configurable properties of a screen object or animation. Each type of object has its own object-specific properties, but all types have a few properties in common.
Accessing the dialog box
To access the Object Properties dialog box for a screen object, do one of the following:
-
Select the screen object, and then on the Draw tab of the ribbon, in the Editing group, click Properties;
-
Right-click the screen object, and then click Properties on the shortcut menu; or
-
Double-click the screen object.
The dialog box in detail
All Object Properties dialog boxes contain the following elements:
(Pin)
Click this button to pin the dialog box, so that it remains open and active when you select other objects in the screen editor. For more information, see Focusing the Object Properties Window.
Replace
Click this button to open the Replace dialog box, which you can use to replace strings, tags, or properties in the selected object. For more information, see Replacing project tags in a document or screen object.
Hint
Type a hint or tooltip that will be displayed during run time, when the user hovers the mouse cursor over the object. This can be used to provide quick-help to the user.
The text in the Hint box is also temporarily written to the system tag Hint, so that you can trigger actions based on the value of this tag when the mouse cursor is moved over a specific object.
Groups of objects and linked objects can have hints, in addition to the hints for each grouped object. All of these hints will be active, but the individual grouped objects' hints will have priority over the hints for the group of objects or the linked object. The hint for the group of objects or the linked object will appear in parts of the screen occupied by the group of objects, but not occupied by one of the grouped objects.
To show hints/tooltips during run time, the Enable Tooltip option must be selected in the project settings. You can enable/disable this feature separately for full project viewers (on the Project tab of the ribbon, in the Settings group, click Viewer) and for thin clients (on the Project tab of the ribbon, in the Web group, click Web).
(Object Selector)
Use this list at the top-right corner of the dialog box to select the specific object or animation in a group of objects that you want to configure. When you select another object, the dialog box immediately changes to show the properties of that object.