Preferences tab
- Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
- 5 minute read
Use this tab to configure your preferences for developing a project in the project development environment.

Warning Messages
Display warning message before downloading screen to the target system
When this option is selected, if you make changes to a screen while the project development environment is actively connected to a target system (via Remote Management), you will be prompted to confirm that you want to download the updated screen to the target system. If this option is cleared, the screen will be downloaded automatically.
Display confirmation message when renaming project tags
When this option is selected, if you rename a tag in the Project Tags folder datasheet, you will be prompted to replace the old tag name with the new tag name in all of the screens and worksheets in your project. It is similar to using the Global Replace tool.
Display confirmation message when changing the screen position and size
When this option is selected, if you use the Layout tool to change the position and size of a project screen (that is, Width, Height, Top, Left in the screen attributes), you will be prompted to confirm those changes.
Display warning message after saving symbols
When this option is selected, a warning message is shown after saving symbols.
Display warning message when replacing cells using driver browser
When this option is selected and you have used tag integration to get tags from a remote device, a warning message will be displayed whenever you replace a local tag in a screen or worksheet with a tag selected from the remote device.
Quality Feedback Service
This section allows you to configure your project to generate log files and/or dump files that can be used to diagnose hardware and software problems, such as memory leaks and unexpected errors. These files are saved in the Dump sub-folder of the running project at: <project name>\Web\Dump
Generate a log file when an unexpected error happens
When this option is selected, the runtime modules append the Log File (\Web\Dump\Dump.txt) whenever an internal exception (error) occurs. These exceptions may not necessarily crash the runtime modules, but they can affect the stability of the system and should be investigated.
The Log File is continually appended until it reaches its maximum size of 2MB. After it reaches its maximum size, the existing file is deleted and a new file is created.
Generate a dump file when an unexpected error happens
When this option is selected, the runtime modules generate a new Dump File (*.dmp) with useful information about the conditions of the error. This is a binary file that can only be read by your support representative.
Dump Files are named WinXXX.dmp โ where XXX is an identifying number (in hexadecimal format) automatically generated by the system โ in order to prevent an existing file from being overwritten when an new error occurs. Therefore, if more than one error occurs, you will find multiple Dump Files in the directory. The Log File indicates the name of the Dump File associated with each error.
Enable log of memory
When this option is selected, the runtime modules append the Log File every 15 minutes with information about the current memory allocation. (The first log entry is written out 15 minutes after the runtime module is started.) This information can be used to identify memory leaks.
Enable detailed dump files
When this option is selected, the generated Dump Files will contain more detailed information than they normally do. Please note that these files take much more hard drive space, so you should select this option only when you are working with your support representative to troubleshoot a specific issue.
Even if none of these Quality Feedback options are selected, a post-mortem Dump File (WinDump.dmp) will always be generated when the runtime module is terminated by a fatal error. However, for debugging purposes, it is strongly recommend that you enable all options in this section and then send the Log File and all Dump Files to your support representative.
Other Preferences
Reset Tags Database when starting project
When this option is selected, the project tags are automatically reset to their startup values whenever you run your project. For more information, see Reset Tags Database.
Enforce Web functionality equivalence in local project screens
When this option is selected, the project development environment will warn you when you try to use features or functions that behave differently depending on whether you view project screens locally (that is, on the same computer that hosts the project runtime) or remotely. This ensures that your project screens always behave the same regardless of where they are viewed. For example, when this option is selected, the Open function cannot be called in VBScript Global Procedures, VBScript scripts (script groups), or other background tasks.
This option is cleared by default in order to maintain compatibility with previous versions of AVEVA Edge. If you do not need to maintain compatibility, you should select this option.
Auto reload project on Viewer/Web Clients when it is changed
When this option is selected, project viewers on client stations will periodically check the project runtime server to see if they have the latest version of the project. If they do not, they will automatically reload the project from the server.
This option is not supported in a project running as a Windows service, because that project runs in its own thread separate from the project development environment. After you make your changes to the project, you must first restart the Windows service to include the changes and then restart the project viewers to reload the project from the server.
Disable high quality when resizing bitmaps to improve performance
When this option is selected, bitmaps in project screens are resized at lower quality. Normally, when bitmaps are displayed at anything other than actual size, they must be resampled to maintain high quality, and if this resampling must be done frequently and/or for many bitmaps in the same screen, it might decrease runtime performance.
Default project path
This is the location where new projects are saved by default when you create them. When you install the full AVEVA Edge software, the default project path is automatically set to:
C:\Users\<user name>\Documents\AVEVA Edge2026 Projects\
You can subsequently change the default project path to any location on your computer or network.