Create and configure users
- Last UpdatedOct 29, 2026
- 4 minute read
To create and maintain accounts for project users:
-
Use the Users button on the Security System dialog.
-
In the Security folder in the Project Explorer Global tab:
-
Right-click the Users folder and select Users properties from the context menu.
-
Right-click any user and select Properties from the context menu.
-
After entering the password, if applicable, the User Account dialog is displayed.

After the project initializes, if no users log on (or when the current user logs off), then the project automatically logs on the default user (Guest). In addition to the default Guest user, there is a Guest group, which has default privileges that enable all tasks. We recommend that you evaluate and edit the Guest group's privileges to specify a minimal amount of privileges for the start up procedure.
To create a new user:
-
Select the New button to open the Create User dialog box. Type a name in the User Name text box, following the instructions at the bottom of the dialog. See the procedure "To configure a user" (below) for information on the rest of the dialog fields.

To delete a user:
-
Select the user name from the User combo box list, then select the Delete button.
To configure a user:
-
Select the user name from the User combo box list.
-
To block the user from logging onto the project at all, select User is blocked. This allows you to disable a user account without deleting it.
To select and clear this option during run time, use the BlockUser and UnblockUser functions, respectively.
-
To flag the user so that it can be deleted during run time โ for example, by calling the RemoveUser function โ select Runtime user.
Users that are actually created during run time โ for example, by calling the CreateUser function โ have this option automatically selected.
If this option is cleared, the user cannot be deleted except through this dialog box. This allows you to protect certain users.
-
Click the new Settings button to open the User Settings dialog box:

-
Configure the parameters on this dialog box as follows:
-
User Full Name text box (optional): Type the user's full name.
-
New Password text box: Type the user's password.
-
Confirm Password text box: Re-type the user's password.
In most cases, user names and passwords can include spaces. However, if you plan to enable Mobile Access for your project, make sure the user names and passwords do not include spaces. For more information, see Link directly to a project screen or screen group.
-
-
In the Available Groups list, select the group(s) to which the user should be assigned, and then click > to move those group(s) to the Assigned Groups list.
-
When you are finished, click OK to apply the changes and close the User Settings dialog box.
Users in Project Explorer
Users are shown in and accessible through the Project Explorer Global tab Security folder Users subfolder. The users are displayed by name, with an icon that shows the status of the User is blocked and Runtime user options. The three icons are:
-
: The user is blocked. There is no indication of whether or not the user is a runtime
user if the user is blocked.
-
: The user is not blocked, and is not a runtime user.
-
: The user is not blocked, and is a runtime user.
The four possible combinations and the applicable icons for each are shown below:
