LaaS overview
- Last UpdatedNov 05, 2026
- 1 minute read
LaaS licenses are managed from within the CALM service in CONNECT. For more information about CALM, see Work with CALM . All users of LaaS for licensing applications are first authenticated by CONNECT. A license is checked out when a user launches an application and is successfully authenticated. The license is available exclusively to the user until it is released.
The LaaS Reports pages in the CALM service lists which users have or previously had a LaaS license. For more information about Laas reports, see View and download LaaS reports.
Note: A LaaS license is also known as a lease.
A license in LaaS is held until the end of the lease period, which is midnight of the time zone set in CALM, and is released if the application is inactive at midnight. However, if the application remains active the license stays checked out until midnight of next day. This differs to the AVEVA Licensing System (ALS) where the license is released as soon as the user logs out or closes the application. For more information on time zones, see View and manage LaaS settings.
If the user closes the application and accesses it again before the release of the license, the same license is reused and a new session is recorded for the user.