Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Powered by Zoomin Software. For more details please contactZoomin

AVEVA™ Recipe Management

Managing the History Database

  • Last UpdatedSep 21, 2017
  • 2 minute read

You can manage your History data by archiving and purging the data.

Archiving the History Database

Use the Recipe Manager Plus History Archiving utility to archive the current History database and replace it with a new History database with current date extension. The new database will act as the operational or active database, and the old database will act as an archived database. Before running the utility, make sure that the user is an administrator.

The utility also provides information related to the history database(s) that are used by active Formula/Recipes.

NOTE: Archiving of the database is allowed only once in a day. If you try to archive more than once, an error message will appear.

To archive the History database

  1. Open the Recipe Manager Plus Archive Utility. The Recipe Manager Plus History Archive Utility dialog box appears.

  2. The Database section of the utility displays the following:

    • Current History Database (To Archive): Displays the current operational database that the user want to archive.

    • New History Database (Operational): Displays the new History database name which will become the current operational database.

  3. In the SQL Administrator Login (Create Database) section of the utility, you can configure one of the following:

    • Click Windows Authentication to use the interactive user’s account.

    • Click SQL Server Authentication and specify the User Name and the Password. This connection information is used only for completing the configuration and is not stored.

    NOTE: The user specified in SQL Administrator Login (Create Database) area must have SQL DB creator rights to create the new History DB and appropriate privileges to modify the Recipe Manager Plus database.

  4. Click Create Archive. A confirmation dialog box appears.

    NOTE: In the case, the current History database is in use by the active Formula/Recipes, a warning message will appear. You should not remove any archived databases from the system that are listed in this warning.

  5. Click OK. The current History database will be archived, and the Recipe Manager Plus History database appended with current date such as, RecMngrPlusHistoryDB_20160714 will be created which will act as the new History database.

    NOTE: After archiving, make sure to create a new SSRS report folder and point its data source to the current operational History database. See the SSRS Reports section for more details.

Purging the History Database

Purging the data deletes the historical data from the operational History database permanently, thereby increasing the available disk space in the computer where the database resides. The default value for “History Auto Purge” is 28 days which can be configured as per your requirement using the System Configuration menu. If you plan on using the archive feature, you would typically disable the Auto Purge feature by setting this value to 0. For more information, refer to the Configuring History Auto Purge Settings topic.

In This Topic
Related Links