Specify workflow direction
- Last UpdatedSep 14, 2026
- 2 minute read
Workflow direction
You can specify whether the Workflow action direction is going forward or backward in the workflow.
There are also states for canceled and on hold, when the workflow action is going neither forwards or backwards.
Sorting of workflow menu items in web application
When a user selects the workflow button in the OSM web application, a drop down list displays a list of available workflow actions to perform.

The value you specify in the Workflow field in OSM Administration affects the appearance of this list and the order of items.
The sorting of the workflow actions are as follows.
-
First, sort on workflow direction.
-
Sort on workflow action name. Within each of the workflow groups, the workflow actions are sorted in ascending order on the workflow action name.
Workflow direction sort order
-
Forward
-
Backward
-
On hold
-
Cancel
-
No value (empty)
Specify a workflow direction
-
On the Tools menu, point to System management and click Entities and workflow.
-
On the Maintenance of entities and workflow window, right-click an entity and click Workflow actions on the context menu.

-
On the Workflow actions window, click the drop-down arrow next to Workflow and select a direction.
-
Backward - This workflow action sends the entity backwards in the workflow.
-
Cancel - This workflow action puts the entity in a canceled state.
-
Forward - This workflow action sends the entity forwards in the workflow.
-
Onhold - This workflow action puts the entity in an hold state.
-

