Lock assays for editing
- Last UpdatedAug 14, 2026
- 5 minute read
If an assay is locked, other Assay users cannot make any changes to the original data. If you lock an assay and another user wishes to add data to the assay, they must ask you to unlock the assay, before locking the assay for editing themselves.
If you have the assay locked on another computer, you must first unlock it on that computer before you can edit it on your current computer.
Note
In order to lock assays, you must be connected to your CrudeSync server. To test if the connection to the CrudeSync server has been established, click Check for Updates in the CrudeSync group of the CrudeSync ribbon tab, and click the Refresh button. If there are any warning messages check the local network connections.

To lock an assay:
-
Select the assay you wish to update in the Database.
-
Do either of the following:
-
Right-click the assay and from the context menu select CrudeSync > Change Lock Status.
-
Click Change Lock Status in the CrudeSync Editing group of the CrudeSync ribbon tab.
-
-
In the Change Lock Status dialog select the Lock <AssayReference> for editing check box.
-
Add a comment for the CrudeSync operation.
-
Click the Apply button to lock the assay.
To unlock an assay:
-
Finish making all necessary changes to the assay data.
-
If required generate the assay pressing F5 and save the changes to the assay.
-
Select the assay in the Database and from the context menu select CrudeSync > Publish.
-
In the CrudeSync dialog enter any comments and ensure the target share is correctly set.
-
Click the Publish button to save the changes on the server.
-
Do either of the following:
-
Right-click the assay in the database and from the context menu select CrudeSync > Change Lock Status.
-
Click Change Lock Status in the CrudeSync Editing group of the CrudeSync ribbon tab.
-
-
In the Change Lock Status dialog select the Release Lock <AssayReference> for editing check box.
-
Add a comment for the CrudeSync operation.
-
Click the Apply button to unlock the assay.
Warning
If you lock assays using the Change Lock Status button on the ribbon, or the context menu option, you must unlock it using the same process. If you use the Configure your database views command you cannot unlock an assay by opening and closing it as in the EasyEdit process.
Additional options in the context menu make locking and unlocking assays for editing easier:
-
Open & Lock With AssayWorkup: automatically locks the assay for editing and opens it in an AssayWorkup document.
-
Open With: allows you to select a document type in which to open the assay after automatically locking it for editing.
Show lock status in the Database view. Several columns can be added to a database view to show information about the lock status of the assay. See Configure your Database views. See Configure your database views.
These columns include:
-
Lock Comment: the comment entered in the dialog during locking.
-
Locked on Machine: the computer name of the computer where the assay is locked.
-
Lock Status: shows a lock icon
if the assay is currently locked by another user, a user icon
if the assay is locked by you and an icon
if you have the assay locked on another computer.
-
Lock Time: the time the assay was locked by the user.
-
Locked by User: the Windows user name of the person who locked the assay for editing.

Tip
You can also use filters to search for assays which are currently locked by other Assay users. Filters you can use to find the lock status of the assays include:
-
Is Locked
-
Is Locked by Current User
-
Is Locked Here
Lock Status for Documents
When editing or viewing documents, icons are visible in the header for the document in the Navigator. Icons include:
-
- indicates the assay is a shared CrudeSync database assay which you have locked
for editing. This icon appears after locking an assay and opening it for editing.
-
- indicates the assay is present in the standard Assay Database. This icon appears
after opening an existing production assay for editing, or when viewing existing locked
assays.
-
- indicates the assay is present in your user database. This option appears after
opening a user assay.
EasyEdit
If EasyEdit is enabled shared assays can be automatically locked while being edited. When using EasyEdit, if you choose to edit a shared assay, the assay will be locked on the server preventing other users from changing the assay data. When you have finished making updates to the assay data and save the assay, the changes will be saved to the CrudeSync server and the lock released, so that other users can download the updates and make further changes. See Database locking.
Remove crudes

To remove a crude from your organization's data share, click Delete Crude in the CrudeSync Editing group of the CrudeSync ribbon tab, or select CrudeSync > Delete Crude from the context menu in the Database view. To finalise the removal and delete the crude, click Remove. To close the dialog without making any changes click Close.
Warning
Deleting a crude will remove the entry from your data share and all other user's data shares